Powered by Blogger.

Google+ Followers

Follow by Email

Google+ Badge

There was an error in this gadget

Audiobook Jukebox

Audiobook Jukebox

NetGalley Member

NetGalley Member
Professional Reader

NetGalley Challenge

NetGalley Challenge
Advocate
Sunday, February 2, 2014

The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike #1) by Robert Galbraith [a.k.a. J.K. Rowling] {Audio}

The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike #1) by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling)
My Rating: 3 of 5 Stars

Title:  The Cuckoo's Calling
Author:  Robert Galbraith
Narrator:  Robert Glenister
Length:  Unabridged; 15 hours, 54 minutes
Publisher:  Hachette Audio
Published:  May 16, 2013
Genres:  Fiction; Crime; Mystery & Detective
Subjects:  Private Investigators - England; Afghan War 2001; Murder Investigation

Synopsis:
The Cuckoo's Calling is a 2013 crime fiction novel by J. K. Rowling, published under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith.
A brilliant mystery in a classic vein: Detective Cormoran Strike investigates a supermodel's suicide.
After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office.
Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story: his sister, the legendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man.
You may think you know detectives, but you've never met one quite like Strike. You may think you know about the wealthy and famous, but you've never seen them under an investigation like this.
©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Audio

My Review:
I think I should first start out with letting it be known that I was one of the few people that DID NOT and I repeat, did not jump on the Harry Potter bandwagon, so I went into reading this book not knowing or expecting anything, after media outlets very quickly ousted J.K. Rowling as writing this book under the pseudonym of Robert Galbraith (I'll never understand trying to be a male author!!).  I had heard all of the hype and hoopla of The Cuckoo's Callings and everyone was complaining about the wait list for their library, but to be quite honest, the book didn't scream out to me and wasn't my typical cup of tea, so it didn't bother me one way or another.  As a matter of fact, I put the book on hold for a friend, and forget to remove it after she bought it, so when I got the email that the book was ready, I thought...why not?

I must say that I liked the book better than what I thought that I would.  I think that even though I declared I went into this book without expectations, I think I still had reservations, because let's get read, this is the same author that wrote The Harry Potter series (just to explain where my reservations were coming from, and that I am totally not a Sci-Fi or Fantasy reader!!) I did feel like it moved at a little slower pace than what I am used to and have come to love and appreciate.

I do find that I have a harder time "getting into" books that are read by English Narrators, so I did find difficulty in listening and being fully absorbed, as I usually am, while listening to Robert Glenister read.  He did do a good job of reading with great reading tones and animation, it was just hard to follow the English accent, but hey, the setting was in London, so an English narrator was to be expected and I can't knock him for that!  I think maybe if the story was a little faster paced, I would have noticed the accent less!  Overall, he was a fine narrator!

I enjoyed the characters more than I did the actual story of this book!  I really enjoyed Robin, Cormoran Strike's new temporary assistant/secretary!  She was his level-headed reason, and was so astute and professional in her demeanor, when a lot of people wouldn't have been, and I loved that about her!  She was discreet in what she had knowledge of with Cormoran's personal life, and didn't make him feel any less than what he already felt and even pretended like she didn't know certain aspects that she thought he might not feel comfortable with her knowing!  Cormoran seemed to be a good detective, as well, finding out what nobody else could, in a must shorter time period!

Like I said before, the story moved at a snail pace for me, so that is what took the likability out of this book for me.  I think the story would have been much more successful in a much shorter format, and if the author would have just gotten to the point.

Overall, I wasn't thoroughly impressed with this book, but I didn't think it was a horrible book, by any means.  It just wasn't a favorite of mine, nor could I say that I loved it and would run out to be first in line for the second book!  If I needed something to read and came upon book two, I would definitely pick it up, because I am interested to see where Galbraith/Rowling goes with Strike.  I actually feel indifferent as to the author after reading this book.  I am open to try another, but am not dying to get my hands on it!

Would I Recommend This Book To Others:
This wasn't a favorite of mine, but for fans of J.K. Rowling, I am sure it is a great read!  I may or may not read the next book in the series...not quite sure bout that yet!

Stand Alone or Part of a Series:
Part of a Series

  • Cormoran Strike #1

My Rating:  3 of 5 Bookworms

Please visit all of my reviews on Goodreads, HERE!




Disclaimer

All blogs and reviews posted here are the sole property of the blogger and represent my very own opinions. In some cases, books reviewed are supplied to me in exchange for an honest review. Such cases will be noted on the blog post.

All other books reviewed have been purchased or borrowed through the normal channels.

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Andrea has read 65 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

Rating System

AMAZING!!! Go get this book right now!!

Great! Highly Recommend

It's ok. Borrow from a friend material.

Not that good but at least read the blurb.

Leave it on the shelf!

Grab My Badge

Cheeky Quotes