Powered by Blogger.

Google+ Followers

Follow by Email

Google+ Badge

There was an error in this gadget

Audiobook Jukebox

Audiobook Jukebox

NetGalley Member

NetGalley Member
Professional Reader

NetGalley Challenge

NetGalley Challenge
Advocate
Saturday, October 10, 2015

Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin {eBook & Audio}

Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin
My Rating:  3 of 5 Stars

Title:  Black-Eyed Susans
Author:  Julia Heaberlin
Series:  Stand Alone
Narrator:  Whitney DykhouseEric G. Dove; & Karen Peakes
Length:  eBook - 368 pages; Unabridged; 10 hours and 09 minutes (Audio)
Publisher:  Ballantine Books of Penguin Random House (eBook)Brilliance Audio (Audio)
Published: June 18, 2013 (e-Book & Audio)
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Format:  eBook & Audio
Genres:  Fiction; Suspense
Subjects:  Murder Victims; Serial Murders; Witnesses

For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.

I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories.


I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans.



As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving "Black-Eyed Susan," the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa's testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row.

Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans - a summertime bloom - just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications - that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large - Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories - and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue.

What they don't know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night.



©2015 Julia Heaberlin (P)2015 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved. Recorded by arrangement with Ballantine Books, an imprint of Random House, a division of Random House LLC



My Review:
This book started out with such great potential, but unfortunately, I didn't feel like it carried out throughout the remainder of the book!  I found myself drawn to the story, interested in what was happening, and lost in my reading for the first part, but it seemed to quickly fizzle out for me, leaving me anxious to get to the end.  

I thought that the idea behind the story was a great one, one that made me grab up this title as quickly as I possibly could.   However, I found myself wondering just how much of this book I had left mid-ways throughout.  The idea behind it was great, but it just didn't seem to carry out well for me.

I can't say that the narration was entirely memorable.  Not even a month after listening to Black-Eyed Susans, if I wouln't have looked, I don't think I could have told you that there were three narrators.  However, I have listened to books that I deemed 3 stars, that I otherwise would have rated differently had I read that title rather than listened.  Some narrators totally ruin a story, at least for me, and this story was not one of them for me.  They were pleasant to listen to, overall.

I think some of what put me aside was the back and forth of the story.  At times, it was hard to follow just what part in time you were listening to.  That made it become a distraction.  However, through everything, I must say that this book has left me with many mixed feelings, thus rendering this review quite difficult for me!  I would at least like to say that I would absolutely give this title a solid 3.5 rating!



Amazon | Audible | Author | Barnes & Noble | Books•A•Million | Google Play | iTunes | Kobo | Publisher (eBook) | Publisher (Audio)


Disclaimer:  This book was provided to me by the Publisher, Ballantine Books (of Penguin Random House), via NetGalley,  in return for an honest and unbiased review.


Disclaimer

All blogs and reviews posted here are the sole property of the blogger and represent my very own opinions. In some cases, books reviewed are supplied to me in exchange for an honest review. Such cases will be noted on the blog post.

All other books reviewed have been purchased or borrowed through the normal channels.

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Andrea has read 65 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

Rating System

AMAZING!!! Go get this book right now!!

Great! Highly Recommend

It's ok. Borrow from a friend material.

Not that good but at least read the blurb.

Leave it on the shelf!

Grab My Badge

Cheeky Quotes